CPSC GB Chairman Syjuco is APACC 2005 Keynote Speaker

CPSC Governing Board Chairman and TESDA-Philippines Director-General Honorable Secretary Augusto "Boboy" Syjuco will address delegates as Keynote Speaker during the Inaugural Ceremony of the Intergovernmental Workshop on Regional Accreditation Modeling and Accrediting the Accreditors at the CPSC Headquarters in Manila, Philippines on 15 August 2005.

As a head of the Philippines' major agency in technical education and skills development training, his message is expected to inspire participants including other senior officials from CPSC member countries.

During the same ceremony, the Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the Philippines, His Excellency Mr. W. M. Senevirathna has been invited to deliver an inspirational message. 

Video and special messages from equally figures in the field of TEVT like: Dr. Rupert Maclean, Director of UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre; Dr. Man-Gon Park, the Director-General of CPSC Mr. Noorhaizamdin bin Haji Mosbi, Director of SEAMEO VOCTECH; and Dr. Robert McCaig, Former CPSC Director now settled in Armidale, Australia to mention a few, will be presented.  

Other resource speakers include: (1) Dr. Agni Prasad Kafle, Member Secretary of the Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training in the Kingdom of Nepal; (2) Dr. Mohammad Asaduzzaman Asad, Chairman of the University Grants Commission of Bangladesh; (3) Dr. Santiago Yabut, Deputy Director General for TVET of TESDA-Philippines; (4) Prof. Prasad Krishna, Advisor of Quality Assurance of the All India Council for Technical Education in India; (5) Prof. Soo-Bong Uh, Dean of Planning Affairs of the Korea University of Technology and Education of the Republic of Korea; (6) Mr. Wipajayananda Ellawala, Additional Secretary (TVET Development) of the Ministry of Skills Development, Vocational and Technical Education of Sri Lanka; (7) Engr. Pervez Iqbal, Deputy Educational Adviser of the Ministry of Education in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan; and (8) Dr. Alcestis Guiang, Former Director-General, TESDA-Philippines. Their topics will delve on accreditation and certification, vis-à-vis general issues in technical education, needs for wider collaboration, standards setting, movement of labor and workers across borders, etc.

The main workshop sessions which will be devoted to the finalization of the APACC Accreditation Manual, Skills Standards, Interactive Survey Instrument and Handbook for Accreditors will be facilitated by: Dr. Manuel Corpus, AACCUP Executive Director; Prof. Tariq Mahmood, CPSC Governing Board-Engaged Faculty Consultant and Dr. Ligaya Valmonte, CPSC Faculty.

Country report and action plan presentations will be chaired by Dr. Shyamal Majumdar, former CPSC Faculty Consultant and Prof. Myong Hee Kim, CPSC Faculty, respectively.  The closing ceremony will be under the charge of two equally competent CPSC faculty, Dr. Hazrat Hussain and Dr. Soon Park.

At the end of the workshop, the three basic accreditation documents shall have been scrutinized and ready to be finalized.  Moreover, the workshops will certify the first batch of APACC accreditors.